
1 CHAPTER 807. CAREER SCHOOLS AND COLLEGES 

2 

3 PROPOSED RULES WITH PREAMBLE TO BE SUBMITTED TO THE TEXAS 

4 REGISTER. THIS DOCUMENT WILL HAVE NO SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES BUT IS 

5 SUBJECT TO FORMATTING CHANGES AS REQUIRED BY THE TEXAS REGISTER. 

6 

7 The Texas Workforce Commission (Commission) proposes amendments to the following section 

8 of Chapter 807, relating to Career Schools and Colleges: 
9 

10 Subchapter S. Sanctions, §807.353 
11 

12 PART I. PURPOSE, BACKGROUND, AND AUTHORITY 
13 PART II. EXPLANATION OF INDIVIDUAL PROVISIONS 
14 PART III. IMPACT STATEMENTS 
15 PART IV. COORDINATION ACTIVITIES 

16 

17 PART I. PURPOSE, BACKGROUND, AND AUTHORITY 

18 Texas law charges the Commission with exercising jurisdiction and control of the oversight of 

19 career schools and colleges operating in Texas. The Commission's Career Schools and Colleges 
20 department (department) licenses and regulates most private postsecondary career schools and 
21 colleges that offer vocational training or continuing education to Texas residents. In Texas, in 
22 the five years between Fiscal Year 2007 (FY'07) and FY'12, the number of licensed career 

23 schools and colleges has grown 27 percent and the number of students enrolled has increased 21 

24 percent. Consequently, the Commission currently regulates more than 500 career schools and 
25 colleges that provide vocational training to more than 160,000 students annually. 

26 

27 Texas law requires the Commission to administer the provisions of Texas Education Code, 
28 Chapter 132; enforce minimum standards for approval and regulation of career schools and 
29 colleges; and adopt policies and rules necessary for carrying out the responsibilities of Chapter 
30 132. To fulfill this role, the department investigates complaints about schools, monitors schools 

31 to ensure regulatory compliance, arranges for the disposition of students affected by a school 
32 closure, and administers the Tuition Trust Account to pay tuition refunds to students when a 
33 school closes. In carrying out its regulatory duties, the department seeks to: 
34 --hold that all businesses meeting the definition as a career school or college meet consistent 

35 standards of quality, performance, and regulatory oversight; 
36 --provide consumer protection for Texas students; and 
37 --ensure students receive quality training to meet the needs of Texas employers. 
38 

39 To support the department's ability to effectively and efficiently promote consistent standards of 
40 quality that is sufficient to meet the training needs of Texas employers by career schools and 

41 colleges regulated by the Commission, the Chapter 807 amendments clarify: 

42 • the consequences for repeat violations of requirements by specifying the sanctions to be 

43 applied for repeat violations; 

44 • the relationship of rules to statutory guidance; 

45 • the calculation of penalties; and 
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• the definition of a repeat violation. 

PART II. EXPLANATION OF INDIVIDUAL PROVISIONS 

(Note: Minor editorial changes are made that do not change the meaning of the rules and, therefore, 

are not discussed in the Explanation of Individual Provisions.) 

SUBCHAPTER S. SANCTIONS 

The Commission proposes the following amendments to Subchapter S: 

§807.353. Administrative Penalties 

Texas Education Code §132.152 authorizes the Commission to assess an administrative penalty 

in an amount not to exceed $1,000 and requires the Commission to consider the seriousness of 
the violation in determining the amount of the penalty. 

Section 807.353(a) simplifies the relationship of rule language to statutory direction on 

maximum penalty amounts by clarifying that an administrative penalty "shall not exceed the 
amount specified in Texas Education Code §132.152" for each instance of a violation and "shall 
be assessed in accordance with that section." 

Section 807.353(b), which states that regardless of the penalty amount for a particular violation 
contained in the penalty matrix, the administrative penalty for repeat violations shall be up to the 
maximum penalty amount of $1,000 per violation, is removed. 

New §807.353(b) clarifies the calculation for an administrative penalty as "based on a penalty 
dollar amount and the number of instances of a violation." 

New §807.353(c) more clearly defines a repeat violation by stating that "a violation is considered 

a repeat violation only where notice of a violation or an administrative penalty has been issued 
previously for that same violation." 

As already provided in §807.353(d), assessment of penalties for repeat violations of specific 

requirements does not prevent the Agency from imposing additional penalties or other sanctions 
for violations of requirements of statute or rule. As set out in Texas Education Code §132.055, 
career schools and colleges are expected to maintain the standards of their certificates and ensure 
that the programs, curriculum, and instruction are of such quality, content, and length to 

reasonably and adequately achieve the stated objective for which the programs, curriculum, and 
instruction is offered. Multiple or repeat violations of rule or statute can jeopardize the ability of 
a career school or college to maintain these standards. In such instances, graduated penalties may 
be assessed with other sanctions up to and including certificate denial or revocation. 

In the Chapter 807 amendments, adopted in January 2012, the Commission established a penalty 
matrix to set forth amounts for violations of career schools and colleges statutes and rules, based 
on the seriousness of the violation and potential harm to consumers, up to the $1,00 0 statutory 

cap. However, the penalty matrix did not differentiate penalty amounts on the basis of repeat 
findings of the same violations. 

PR-Ch. 807 CSC Sanctions (10.9.12)APPROVED 2 



1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

36

37

38

39

40

41

42

43

44

45

46

Section 807.353(e), which introduces the penalty matrix, simplifies language to state that the 
matrix is for determining and assessing an administrative penalty. To provide clear deterrence 

for repeated failure to comply with statutory and regulatory requirements, the Commission 
proposes to amend the matrix to include graduated penalties that will be levied for repeat 
violations of specific statutory and regulatory requirements. Further, wording for some of the 
violations identified is revised to provide clarification on violations and how they are assessed. 

Pending adoption of these rules, the department shall continue to operate consistent with the 
Commission's authority to establish sanctions for repeat violations up to the statutory maximum 
of $1,000. It is the Commission's intent to implement sanctions for repeat violations in 

accordance with the penalty matrix set forth in §807.353 for any penalties levied on or after 
December 1, 2012. 

Certain subsections in this section have been relettered to accommodate additions and deletions. 

PART III. IMPACT STATEMENTS 

Randy Townsend, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that for each year of the first five 

years the rules will be in effect, the following statements will apply: 

There are no additional estimated costs to the state and to local governments expected as a result 
of enforcing or administering the rules. 

There are no estimated reductions in costs to the state and to local governments as a result of 
enforcing or administering the rules. 

There are no estimated losses or increases in revenue to the state or to local governments as a 
result of enforcing or administering the rules. 

There are no foreseeable implications relating to the costs or revenues of the state or local 

governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rules. 

There are no significant, probable economic costs to persons required to comply with the rules. 

There is no anticipated adverse economic impact on small or microbusinesses as a result of 
enforcing or administering the rules. 

Economic Impact Statement and Regulatory Flexibility Analysis 

The Agency has determined that the proposed rules will not have an adverse economic impact on 
small businesses as these proposed rules place no requirements on small businesses. 

Richard C. Froeschle, Director of Labor Market and Career Information, has determined that 

there is no significant negative impact upon employment conditions in the state as a result of the 
rules. 
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Reagan Miller, Director, Workforce Development Division, has determined that for each year of 
the first five years the rules are in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing the 
rules will be to clarify regulatory requirements and consequences for repeat violations for career 

schools and colleges, to clarify regulatory requirements for career schools and colleges, and 
assist the Agency to exercise its regulatory authority as efficiently as possible. 

The Agency hereby certifies that the proposal has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to 

be within the Agency's legal authority to adopt. 

PART IV. COORDINATION ACTIVITIES 

Comments on the proposed rules may be submitted to TWC Policy Comments, Workforce 
Policy and Service Delivery, attn: Workforce Editing, 101 East 15th Street, Room 440T, Austin, 
Texas 78778; faxed to (512) 475-3577; or e-mailed to TWCPolicyComments@twc.state.tx.us. 
The Commission must receive comments postmarked no later than 30 days from the date this 

proposal is published in the Texas Register. 

The rules are proposed under Texas Labor Code §301.0015 and §302.002(d), which provide the 
Texas Workforce Commission with the authority to adopt, amend, or repeal such rules as it 

deems necessary for the effective administration of Agency services and activities. 

The proposed rules affect Title 4, Texas Labor Code, particularly Chapters 301 and 302, as well 
as Texas Education Code, Chapter 132. 
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1 

2 CHAPTER 807. CAREER SCHOOLS AND COLLEGES 

3 

4 §807.353. Administrative Penalties. 

5 

6 (a) Unless otherwise provided by statute, an An administrative penalty shall not exceed 
7 $1,000the amount specified in Texas Education Code §132.152 for each instance of 

8 a violation and shall be assessed in accordance with that section. 
9 

10 (b) Regardless of the penalty amount for a particular violation contained in the penalty 
11 matrix, the administrative penalty for repeat violations shall be up to the maximum 

12 penalty amount of $1,000 per violation. 
13 

14 (b)(c) The total amount of an administrative penalty shall beis calculated based on a as 
15 the product of the penalty dollar amount and the number of instances of violation. 

16 

17 (c) A violation is considered a repeat violation only where notice of a violation or an 
18 administrative penalty has been issued previously for that same violation. 
19 

20 (d) The assessment of an administrative penalty shall not preclude the Agency from 
21 administering other sanctions, up to and including revocation of a school's certificate 
22 of approval. 
23 

24 (e) The following penalty matrix is for For the purposes of determining and assessing an 
25 administrative penalty, the Agency shall use the penalty matrix below. The absence 
26 of a particular violation from the matrix shall not preclude the Agency from 
27 assessing an administrative penalty. 

28 

29 

Violation First Offense: Penalty Repeat Offenses: 

Penalty 

Small school transitioning to a large school: 

• Failure to notify Agency of the school's status 

change; 

• Failure to timely apply; or 

• Failure to remit increased fees. 

$250 Second Offense: $500 

Third and Subsequent 

Offenses: $1,000 

Failure to disclose tuition, fees, or other charges, 

including increases, to the Agency 

$250 Second Offense: $500 

Third and Subsequent 
Offenses: $1,000 
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Vacating the school facility without providing 
prior notification to the Agency of a change of 
address 

$250 Second Offense: $500 

Third and Subsequent 

Offenses: $1,000 

Failure to maintain records demonstrating 
compliance with requirements of statute or rule 

$250 Second Offense: $500 

Third and Subsequent 
Offenses: $1,000 

Failure to provide complete and accurate 
information as required by the Agency 

$250 Second Offense: $500 

Third and Subsequent 
Offenses: $1,000 

Failure to ensure a staff member has 

representatives have taken required training 
approved by the Agency 

$500 Second and Subsequent 

Offenses: $1,000 

Failure to provide an instructorinstructors who 
meetsmeet necessary qualifications and whose 

application was submitted within notice require 
required time framesments 

$500 Second and Subsequent 
Offenses: $1,000 

Failure to make arrangements satisfactory to the 
Agency for the completion of a discontinued 
course of instruction 

$500 Second and Subsequent 
Offenses: $1,000 

Failure to respond to a requestrequests or 
direction from the Agency 

$500 Second and Subsequent 
Offenses: $1,000 

Making a false statement in an application to the 
Agency 

$500 Second and Subsequent 
Offenses: $1,000 

Failure to maintain the instructors, facilities, 
equipment, or courses of instruction and 
outcomes on the basis of which approval was 
issued 

$500 Second and Subsequent 
Offenses: $1,000 

Failure to disclose limitations on transferability 

of courses of instruction to a prospective student 

$500 Second and Subsequent 

Offenses: $1,000 
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Advertising thatthe availability of financial aid is 
available or advertising that financial aid may be 
available for a program for which it is not 

available 

$500 Second and Subsequent 
Offenses: $1,000 

Failure to establish that a studentstudents met the 
approved admission requirements when the 
student was enrolled 

$750 Second and Subsequent 
Offenses: $1,000 

Failure to submit the annual program completion, 

job placement, and employment data required by 
the Agency by the required due date 

$750 Second and Subsequent 

Offenses: $1,000 

Failure to submit annual financial statements no 
later than 180 days from the close of the school's 
or college's fiscal year 

$750 Second and Subsequent 
Offenses: $1,000 

Transfer of all students from one school location 
to another school location, by an owner with 
multiple school locations, without Agency 
approval 

$750 Second and Subsequent 
Offenses: $1,000 

DismissalSuspension of all classes and dismissal 

of all students contrary to the school's class 
schedule as printed in the school catalog for 
reasons not approved by the Agency 

$750 Second and Subsequent 

Offenses: $1,000 

Operating a school without a certificate of 

approval 

$1,000 Second and Subsequent 

Offenses: $1,000 

Teaching a course of instruction or revised course 
of instruction that has not been approved by the 
Agency 

$1,000 Second and Subsequent 
Offenses: $1,000 

Using advertising that is false, misleading, or 

deceptive, including the misrepresentation of 
degrees other than those approved by the 
Coordinating Board 

$1,000 Second and Subsequent 

Offenses: $1,000 

Failure to notify the Agency of the 
discontinuance of the course of instruction or the 

operation of a school or college within 72 hours 
of cessation of classes, and to make available 
accurate records as required 

$1,000 Second and Subsequent 
Offenses: $1,000 
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Solicitation of a prospective studentstudents in 
violation of statutory and rule requirements 

$1,000 Second and Subsequent 
Offenses: $1,000 

Any misrepresentationMisrepresentation $1,000 Second and Subsequent 
Offenses: $1,000 

Failure to file a complete application for renewal 
at least 30 days before the expiration date of the 
certificate of approval 

10% of renewal fee not 
less than $200 and not 

more than $1,000 

Second and Subsequent 
Offenses: 10% of renewal 
fee, not less than $200 
and not more than $1,000 

Failure to pay any fee or penalty installment by 
the required due date 

50% of the total amount 
of the fee 

50% of the total amount 
of the fee 

Paying a refundrefunds late A rate established 
annually by the 

Commission 

A rate established 
annually by the 

Commission. 

1 

2 

PR-Ch. 807 CSC Sanctions (10.9.12)APPROVED 8 


